Breaking the Kryptonite Ceiling

We’re cooking up some fun summer activities to share in the very near future. For the moment I wanted to pass along a great resource for young readers and comic fans… Girl-Wonder is a site dedicated to balancing the scales of power in comic books, their motto, “Because capes aren’t just for boys”. The site is fantastic with recommendations, forums, critical papers and webcomics. Here is a direct link to reviews they’ve posted of work made for kids…. I was very happy to see Ted Naifeh’s Polly and the Pirates there. My kids and I are half way through it and it’s a delightful read about a young girl’s transformation into reluctant pirate. The art is first rate and the characters appealing to my son and daughter (who are both bizarrely fixated on traditional gender roles).

I got a huge kick out of one of their papers,Comparative Sex-Specific Body Mass Index in the Marvel Universe and the “Real” World, by Karen Healey. M.A. University of Canterbury, New Zealand.”

It’s absolutely fascinating, for one, I was pleasantly surprised to see that a number of the Marvel women characters had “normal” height and weight statistics, though there were trends to idealized sizes. My assumption would be that the twiggy model figures we see in movies and tv would be replicated in the comics arena, nice to see these crime fighters have enough weight on them to stop a speeding bullet! It seems that the heroine Misty Knight and I share the exact same body dimensions, lucky me, though she has enhanced bionic parts and can generate a wide anti-gravity repulsor field and has the ability to shoot a field of ice. Then again, I wonder if our miss Misty can juggle carpools, violin lessons, part time job(s), dinner on the table at 5 and still find time to blog, you hear me Misty, who’s the superhero now? Sorry, I digress…

Leave a Reply

